The Corona crisis spooked many investors at the outset. Fear spread and Portfolios were sold. Almost all asset classes fell. Dramatic scenarios played out in the stock markets in February through March 19 of this year. However, the panic was still there even after the market had risen 15% again. This can be seen, for example, in the VIX(R) index, often called the "fear index," which, after peaking above 80 points, was still hovering between 30 and 40 points as recently as April.

In the media, many "experts" have orated about all different kinds of recovery of the economy and the stock markets. Many numbers of the alphabet had to be used for this. V-, U-, or L- or maybe W-form?.

Analyses show that many investors (especially professional investors) initially assumed a W-shape - a quasi double-dip formation. However, this did not happen. Therefore, many professional and private investors had to enter the market when it had already risen 15% and further. The low in mid / late March have probably met the fewest investors.

At Traderama, we have taken the first eight months of 2020 as an opportunity to examine the performance of emotionless investment and trading systems. The Corona Crash, which doesn't happen every day, is a prime example to test the reliability of systems and derive trading patterns for wealth management. All investors who still believe they can invest better than the computer should read this analysis carefully.

The computer was the better investor in the Corona crisis

Comparison of the average return. We have not retained the returns for the presentation and have therefore worked with a constant capital investment per trade. If the earnings were not distributed but reinvested, the returns as of September would be approx. 1% higher.

Average return (%) of the 6 US stocks Quant packages
(mode: distribution of income)

Average return of the 6 Germany shares Quant packages
(mode: distribution of income)

PERFORMANCE OF ALL QUANT SYSTEMS (From January 2020)

We have calculated the performance separately for packages with US shares and packages with Germany shares. The six Quant packages with US shares are summarized on the left. The six Quant packages with Germany shares are shown on the right. It is clear to see that the US systems have generated significantly more profit than the German systems.

The timeline shows that the highest gains were achieved in April. The US systems have already generated a positive profit in March - despite distortions on the stock market. This is due to the fact that the systems had a large number of positive trades in mid to late March. unemotional have been received.

Comparison with top funds:

The Traderama systems also perform significantly better compared to many funds. While the 10 largest funds on German equities realized an average performance of -1%, the Traderama systems have generated more than 4 % plus. They also outperformed the US equity funds. For these funds, we calculate an average performance of 10% for the 10 largest funds in the Growth and Value segments. Traderama achieves more than 14 % performance in the same period.

(Data evaluation: 01 January 2020 to 24 September 2020)

 

Trading systems manage risks better than humans

Risk management is a central element of quantitative trading systems. It is designed to protect both the individual position and the entire Portfolio from dramatic losses. It is an airbag and an emergency button at the same time.

The Traderama systems have an integrated stop management system, which is used to sell positions immediately if they do not develop in the desired direction. We use a stop logic that from 5% below the purchase price sells the position the next day "best".

The analysis shows that the number of positions sold by Stop Management increased significantly in March.

While on average about 15% of all trades are closed via stop management, almost 65% of trades were closed via stop management in March.

That one can also achieve very good profits in a volatile downward phase with emotionless trading is shown by the following evaluation.

Shown are the average profits of the trades that reached the target versus the average losses of all trades that were sold by Risk Management.

In the hot and highly volatile market phase in March 2020, the best results were achieved on average with our long-only systems. The results for April 2020 are also very good and the average loss from the stop-triggered trades has even decreased significantly.

OUTCOME:

Some of the best trades were made in a market phase in which many investors, full of emotion, only sold without considering what opportunities this market phase offered. Emotionless trading systems have taken advantage of these opportunities.

How long you stay in a position is also important for trade management. During the Corona peak, all trading systems shortened the holding period of trades to a few days and trades were either aborted or quickly ran into the target. The shortened holding period of a position avoids unnecessary risks.

In stable upward phases of a market, one is happy with long holding periods. It is important for investors to distinguish quickly and decisively between different market phases. Trades entered from April 2020 onwards have already had a longer holding period.

Results: 

Those in the stock market must be careful to consistently close out positions even on the downside to free up capital for a better trade. This analysis of Quant systems also clearly shows one of the biggest problems investors have in down phases. Positions are often liquidated only when the bottom of a price trend is approaching. Then it often goes down again quickly. Quant systems avoid this "sitting out" of a position and work emotionless the signals.

The holding period of a trade must be adjusted

Holding period of trades (days) per month (average of 12 Quant packages)

If you act systematically, you should follow the system

It is sometimes very difficult for humans to blindly rely on a system. However, the number of situations in which the system is wrong is often much smaller than human decisions.

By the fact that man discretionary and non-mutual decisions the success rate of a person not repeatable. It does on a machine. And that is the good thing about a Quant system. It is possible to test and verify the performance of the system over many market situations.

Why it is important to continue a system consistently even if there are a few losses is shown in the following graph.

It is almost impossible to identify the bottom of the movement in a crash. But the systems just work through it - with risk and money management. Numerous analyses show that the best profit is made in the first recovery phase after downward exaggerations.

The Traderama Quant systems have In April, more than 70% of the total profit for the year 2020 generated. So that was back in April. Those who missed this phase of the market missed out on much of the year's gains. Since many investors were still betting on a W-shaped rally, this is likely to have been a great many investors who were not yet invested or only slightly invested in April.

Quant Systems to do it yourself

Do you have questions about our Quant systems? Write to us at support@traderama.com or use our contact form.

Die Corona Krise hat viele Anleger zu Beginn in Schrecken versetzt. Angst machte sich breit und Portfolios wurden verkauft. Fast alle Asset Klassen sind gefallen. Dramatische Szenarien spielten sich an den Aktienmärkten im Februar bis zum 19. März diesen Jahres ab. Die Panik war aber immer noch da, selbst als der Markt schon wieder um 15% gestiegen war. Dies zeigt sich zum Beispiel an dem VIX(R) Index, häufig auch „Angstindex“ genannt, der nach seinem Hoch bei über 80 Punkten noch im April zwischen 30 und 40 Punkten pendelte.

In den Medien haben viele „Fachleute“ über alle verschiedenen Arten der Erholung der Wirtschaft und der Aktienmärkte orakelt. Viele Zahlen des Alphabets musste dafür herhalten. V-, U-, oder L- oder vielleicht doch W-Form?.

Analysen zeigen, dass viele Anleger (insbesondere professionelle Anleger) zu Beginn von einer W-Form ausgegangen sind – eine Quasi Double-Dip Formation. Dazu kam aber nicht. Deshalb mussten viele professionelle und auch private Anleger in den Markt einsteigen, als dieser schon 15% und weiter gestiegen war. Das Tief Mitte / Ende März haben wohl die wenigsten Anleger getroffen.

Die ersten acht Monate im Jahr 2020 haben wir bei Traderama zum Anlass genommen, um die Performance von emotionslosen Investment und Trading Systemen zu untersuchen. Der Corona Crash, der nicht alle Tage so vorkommt, ist ein Musterbeispiel, um die Verlässlichkeit von Systemen zu prüfen und Handelsmuster für das Vermögensmanagement abzuleiten. Alle Anleger, die immer noch glauben, besser als der Computer anlegen zu können, sollten diese Analyse aufmerksam lesen.

Der Computer war in der Corona Krise der bessere Investor

Vergleich der durchschnittlichen Rendite. Wir haben für die Darstellung die Erträge nicht thesauriert und somit mit einem konstanten Kapitaleinsatz pro Trade gearbeitet. Würde man die Erträge nicht ausschütten sondern thesaurieren, wären die Renditen mit Stand September ca. 1% höher.

Mittlere Rendite (%) der 6 US-Aktien Quant Pakete
(Modus: Ausschüttung der Erträge)

Mittlere Rendite der 6 Deutschland-Aktien Quant Pakete
(Modus: Ausschüttung der Erträge)

PERFORMANCE ALLER QUANT SYSTEME (Ab Januar 2020)

Wir haben die Performance getrennt nach Paketen mit US Aktien und Paketen mit Deutschland Aktien berechnet. Die sechs Quant Pakete mit US – Aktien sind links zusammengefasst. Die sechs Quant Pakete mit Deutschland Aktien zeigen sich auf der rechten Seite. Deutlich zu sehen ist, dass die US Systeme gegenüber den Deutschland Systemen deutlich mehr Gewinn erwirtschaftet haben.

Auf der Zeitachse zeigt sich, dass die höchsten Gewinne im April erzielt wurden.  Die US Systeme haben schon im März in Summe wieder einen positiven Gewinn erwirtschaftet – trotz Verwerfungen am Aktienmarkt. Das liegt daran, dass die Systeme Mitte bis Ende März einen Vielzahl positiver Trades emotionslos eingegangen sind.

Vergleich mit Top Fonds:

Auch im Vergleich zu vielen Fonds schneiden die Traderama Systeme deutlich besser ab. Während die 10 größten Fonds auf deutsche Aktien im Schnitt eine Performance von -1% realisierten, haben die Traderama Systeme mehr als 4 % Plus erwirtschaftet. Auch gegenüber den Fonds auf US Aktien zeigt sich eine bessere Performance. Bei diesen Fonds berechnen wir für die jeweils größten 10 Fonds im Growth und Value Bereich eine mittlere Performance von 10%. Traderama erreicht im selben Zeitraum mehr als 14 % Performance.

(Datenauswertung: 01. Januar 2020 bis 24. September 2020)

 

Handelssysteme managen Risiken besser als der Mensch

Das Risiko Management ist ein zentrales Element quantitativer Handelssysteme. Es soll sowohl die einzelne Position als auch das gesamte Portfolio vor dramatischen Verlusten schützen. Es ist Airbag und Notfallknopf zugleich.

Die Traderama Systeme haben ein integriertes Stop Management System, welches dazu dient, Positionen sofort wieder zu verkaufen, wenn diese sich nicht in die gewünschte Richtung entwickeln. Wir nutzen einen Stop Logik, die ab 5% unterhalb des Kaufpreises die Position am nächsten Tag “bestens” veräußert.

Die Auswertung zeigt, dass die Anzahl der Positionen, die durch das Stop Management verkauft wurden, im März signifikant angestiegen ist.

Während durchschnittlich ca. 15% aller Trades über das Stop Management beendet werden, wurden im März fast 65% der Trades über das Stop Management geschlossen.

Das man in einer volatilen Abwärtsphase bei emotionslosem Handel auch sehr gute Gewinne erzielen kann, zeigt die nachfolgende Auswertung.

Dargestellt sind die durchschnittlichen Gewinn der Trades, die das Ziel erreicht haben gegenüber den durchschnittlichen Verlusten aller Trades, die durch das Risiko Management verkauft wurden.

In der heißen und hoch volatilen Marktphase im März 2020 wurden durchschnittlich die besten Ergebnisse mit unseren Long-Only Systemen erzielt. Auch die Ergebnisse für den April 2020 sind sehr gut und der durchschnittliche Verlust aus den Stop-getriggerten Trades ist sogar deutlich zurückgegangen.

ERGEBNIS:

Einige der besten Trades wurden in einer Marktphase durchgeführt, in der viele Anleger voller Emotion nur verkauft haben ohne zu überlegen, welche Chancen dieses Marktphase bietet. Emotionslos handelnde Systeme haben diese Chancen genutzt.

Wie lange man in einer Position verbleibt, ist ebenfalls für das Trademanagement wichtig. In der Corona Hochphase haben alle Handelssysteme die Haltedauer der Trades auf ein paar Tage verkürzt und Trades wurden entweder abgebrochen oder sind schnell in das Ziel gelaufen. Die verkürzte Haltedauer einer Position vermeidet unnötige Risiken.

In stabilen Aufwärtsphasen eines Markets ist man über lange Haltedauern froh. Es gilt für Anleger, schnell und entschlossen zwischen unterschiedlichen Marktphasen zu unterscheiden. Trades, die ab April 2020 eingangen wurden, haben schon eine längere Haltedauer gehabt.

Ergebnis: 

Wer am Aktienmarkt unterwegs ist, muss darauf achten, konsequent Positionen auch auf der Zeitache zu schließen, um das Kapital für einen besseren Trade wieder freizumachen. Diese Analyse der Quant Systeme zeigt auch deutlich eines der größten Problem von Anlegern in Abwärtsphase auf. Die Positionen werden häufig erst dann liquidiert, wenn der Tiefpunkt einer Kursentwicklung naht. Dann geht es häufig nochmals schnell bergab. Quant Systeme vermeiden dieses “Aussitzen” einer Position und arbeiten emotionslos die Signale ab.

Die Haltedauer eines Trades muss angepasst werden

Haltedauer der Trades (Tagen) pro Monat (Mittelwert der 12 Quant Pakete)

Wenn man systematisch handelt, sollte man dem System folgen

Es ist für den Menschen manchmal sehr schwierig, sich blind auf ein System zu verlassen. Allerdings sind die Anzahl der Situationen, in denen das System falsch liegt häufig viel kleiner als menschliche Entscheidungen.

Dadurch, dass der Mensch diskretionäre und nicht maschinelle Entscheidungen trifft, ist die Erfolgsquote eines Menschen nicht reproduzierbar. Bei einer Maschine schon. Und das ist das Gute an einem Quant System. Es ist möglich, die Performance des Systems über viele Marktsituationen hinweg zu testen und zu überprüfen.

Warum es wichtig ist, ein System konsequent weiterzuführen auch wenn es mal ein paar Verluste gibt, zeigt die folgende Graphik.

Es ist fast unmöglich, bei einem Crash den Boden der Bewegung zu identifizieren. Aber die Systeme arbeiten einfach durch – mit Risiko- und Money Management. Zahlreiche Analysen zeigen, dass man die besten Gewinn in der ersten Erholungsphase nach Übertreibungen nach unten macht.

Die Traderama Quant Systeme haben im April mehr als 70% des gesamten Profits für das Jahr 2020 erwirtschaftet. Das war also schon im April. Wer diese Marktphase verpasst hat, hat einen Großteil des Gewinns des Jahres nicht erzielt. Da viele Anleger noch immer auf eine W-förmige Erholung gesetzt haben, dürften dies sehr viele Anleger gewesen sein, die im April noch nicht oder nur wenig investiert waren.

Quant Systeme zum Selber Handeln

Sie haben Fragen zu unseren Quant Systemen? Schreiben uns uns an support@traderama.com oder nutzen Sie unser Kontaktformular.